Monday, November 19, 2012

A Charlie Brown Christmas / The Ventures' Christmas Album

2012 marks the fifth year Jeffrey Bützer and T.T. Mahoney present Vince Guaraldi's A Charlie Brown Christmas, which has become an Atlanta tradition and institution.  I have attended every one of these magical performances, which enkindle my love and spirit for the Christmas season each year.  It has also been my honor to perform The Ventures' Christmas Album the previous two years, as I will this year with my group Chad Shivers and the Silent Knights.

At The Earl December 14 & 15, tickets at Ticket Alternative (which may also be purchased at Whole Foods, Criminal Records, and CD Warehouse).

At The Bottletree Cafe December 21, tickets at

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Happy birthday to my son, J!

J Evan Shivers was born Tuesday, July 31st at 11:33pm. He weighed 7lbs. 7.5 oz. and measured 21" long.
Normally I would not post such personal items on this blog but I feel such a momentous occasion warrants archive.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Moonbase first show!

Moonbase is an instrumental surf combo with progressive leanings formed in 2012 by George Asimakos (Blame Game, Gold Standard, Knaves Graves) on lead guitar, Eric Balint (Bicycle Eaters, Book of Colors) on bass guitar, Sonny Harding (Sorry no Ferrari, Treephort) on drums, and myself on second guitar.

We will be playing our first show at the Star Bar (437 Moreland Avenue Northeast  Atlanta, GA 30307)  Wednesday, June 20 with The Purkinje Shift, Lazer/Wulf, and Ghost Bikini.

Monday, May 21, 2012

After four fantastic shows in three weeks I feel it appropriate to announce that I am now the newest member of The Mystery Men?

Friday, March 16, 2012

Jeffrey Bützer and the Bicycle Eaters record release 3/31

at The Earl (488 Flat Shoals Avenue Southeast  Atlanta, GA 30316 404-522-3950) with our friends Small Reactions and Christ, Lord.  Be one of the first twenty people to pre-order tickets at receive receive a free 7"

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Vipers & Adders show 2/3

at the Highland Inn Ballroom (644 North Highland Avenue, Atlanta, GA) with our friends North Trolls and Sound & Shape from Nashville, TN.


I am now on Twitter, please follow me on Twitter @ChadShivers

Jeffrey Bützer & The Bicycle Eaters

Jeffrey Bützer is a composer and multi-instrumentalist who has released several albums and played around the world.  Members of his band, the Bicycle Eaters, include myself on guitar, Eric Balint (also Book of Colors) on percussion, and Kristin Haverty on cello.  Our first 7" record will be released March 31, 2012.  A track from the upcoming record can be downloaded at our bandcamp site.

Vipers & Adders

Vipers & Adders is a rock band formed by myself on guitar, bass, and vocals, Nick Bazemore on vocals and guitar, Brad Mattocks on bass, guitar, and vocals, and Sean Zearfoss (also of Small Reactions and Places) in 2009.  Our debut album, "Return to Light", was released in 2011.  The album can be streamed and purchased (name your own price) at our bandcamp site.

Sorry no Ferrari

 Sorry no Ferrari was an instrumental progressive rock band active from 2004 to 2011.  It was founded by myself on guitar, Drew Mobley on bass, Drew Bacon on guitar, and Justin Smith on drums.  That lineup recorded our first ep and Drew Bacon and Justin were replaced by Brett Kelly (current Tealights) and Sonny Harding respectively.  After recording our second ep, we went through a couple of drummers until we hit our stride with Jonathan "JB" Balsamo (current Palaces).  We recorded our first full length album "Ternary" on Stickfigure Records to some acclaim.  So much extra work was done on the recording our very dear friend Nick Pantano was added to the fold to fill in the extra space.  SnF toured throughout the east several times and got to play with some amazing bands.

Sorry no Ferrari - "Ternary"
Track listing:
1. Ternary I:  The Singularity
2. Ternary II:  With Folded Hands
3. Ternary III:  Future Prometheus
4. Ashar
5. Setun
6. Talos I
7. Talos II

Ternary can be heard in it's entirety (as well as purchased) here as well as on iTunes, and streamed on Spotify


The Squares

The Squares was an instrumental surf band active from 1995 to 2002.  It was founded by myself on guitar, Jeff Patterson (RIP) on bass, and Morgan Hobbs on drums.  Jeremy Osborne was added shortly thereafter on lead guitar.  Roughly a year later Jeff was replaced by Matt Benard and a sax player, Tim, was also added.  That line-up recorded a cassette demo.  The Squares later parted ways with Tim and recorded "Teenage Surf Madness!!!" in 1999.  In 2001, our swan song "Eight Songs" was released.

The Squares - "Teenage Surf Madness!!!" (1999)
Track listing:
1. Intro
2. Kill Devil Kill
3. Teenage Surf Madness
4. Sunset Run
5. Kamikaze
6. Squaranoid
7. Gearhead
8. Gone Fishin'
9. Landlocked
10. Ahhh!!!
11. Square Summer
12. Aquarock
13. I Wanna Go Surfin' In Your Shorts
14.  Detention
15. Anticipation
16. Schools Out
17. Hot Rod Hearse


The Squares - "Eight Songs" (2001)
All songs on this album are without titles


Happy new year.

Hello, and welcome.  This blog will mainly feature musical projects in which I am involved.  It will feature links to my music past and present, show updates, as well as other information.